The most wonderful time of the year

Hi all,

It’s been a while since my last post. I was sick for a week and then you know how the holidays can be 🙂

Regardless, it really is the most wonderful time of the year. No, I’m not talking about Christmas, but awards show season! I’ve never been a huge fan of Christmas, but boy am I excited on Oscar Day. (I even planned a vacation around it last year).

I plan to tweet during the Oscars and will try to blog as much about it until the big day. I usually like at least see all of the best picture nominees, as well as some of the big movies for best actress/actor, etc. So far I have seen The Descendants and Moneyball, which I both loved.

The Descendents was a constant roller coaster ride, as I grieved for a character I had never even met. In the movie the main character, played by George Clooney, finds out that his wife was having an affair after she slips into a coma following a jet ski accident. The journey he takes with this daughters to find the truth and move on is haunting, sorrowful and often darkly humorous.

Moneyball is a great, smart movie about Billy Beane, the former manager of the Oakland A’s, and how he used statistics to improve his baseball team. It might sound boring, but the director made a great movie that both a lover and hater of baseball stats can appreciate. Plus, it has Brad Pitt in it, who I love. 🙂

Also on my list to see are:

Young Adult
The Ides of March
The Artist
Drive
New Years Eve (J/K … just making sure you are paying attention)
The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo
Midnight in Paris
My Week with Marilyn

Sherlock Holmes (okay, not super Oscar-worthy, but it should be entertaining)

Ones I should see because they will get nominated, but haven’t gotten great reviews so far:

J.Edgar

The Iron Lady (I’m just so burned out on bio-pics and British period pieces).

Am I missing a movie? Should I remove any from the list?

Lavilla

Leave a comment