Oscars part deux

As we are only a few minutes away from the Grammy Awards, my favorite award show is again on my mind: the Oscars (of course).

Since I wrote last, I’ve seen a few more of the films nominated for best picture, actor, actress, etc. I just saw Drive last night, so it’s fresh in my mind. Maybe it’s because I just saw it, but I can’t get  that movie out of my mind. Between the music, the cinematography, the scorpion jacket and the man himself, Ryan Gosling, I was hooked after the opening scene. It’s super disappointing that it wasn’t nominated for more awards given how beautiful and haunting it was. I now understand my sister’s disappointment on nomination day when that didn’t even get as many nominations as Transformers 3.

I also saw Midnight in Paris this week, and loved it for entirely different reasons. The film was enthusiastically romantic and really brought be back to the days when Paris was the playground for folks like F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway and Pablo Picasso. While I’m not the biggest fan of Owen Wilson, I can appreciate him in movies like these, as well as his stints with Wes Anderson movies. Overall, the film was delightful.

The last Oscar-worthy movie I’ve seen since writing last was The Artist, which is by far to most talked about film of the year and the one to beat on the big day. I found that once I got past the initial novelty of a silent film about the end of the silent film area, it wasn’t that great of a story. Don’t get me wrong, it was done very well, but I judge movies largely based on plot, and it just didn’t hold up in that department. It did bring up some nostalgia for me because it reminded me of my recently deceased grandmother who grew up in that era. The film made me wish I had asked her about her younger years more.

So that’s my update on the Oscar films. I still have a few to watch that I’m not terribly excited about.

I still have to see Hugo, War Horse and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. Any thoughts? Are they worth seeing or should I skip it?

 

Leave a comment